Love & Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere

$29.95

ISBN: 978-1-921924-521 Format: (139.7mm X 228.6mm) with flaps 320pp Rights: ANZ Release / Publication Date: 01 /09 /2013
Category:

Description

A compelling memoir of true crime and a charming portrait of small town life. Simultaneously published in Australia and US.

Foreword by Cheryl Strayed, bestselling author of Wild.
Related documentary directed by Dave Jannetta forthcoming.
For fans of Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood, John Berendt’s In the Garden of Good and Evil and Helen Garner’s Joe Cinque’s Consolation.

At age forty six years US author Poe Ballantine ends his nomadic lifestyle and brings his beautiful wife from Mexico to Chadron, Nebraska, and becomes a father to a son who may be autistic. His neighbor, a math professor at Chadron State College, disappears and three months later is found burned to death and tied to a tree in the woods. What happened to him? Was it murder? Suicide? Poe and a cast of memorable characters from Chadron aim to find out.

‘A spellbinding story of a good man who died mysteriously and a moving memoir of uncommon grace.’ Cheryl Strayed

‘Poe Ballantine is the most soulful, insightful, funny, and altogether luminous
“under-known” writer in America. He knocks my socks off, even when I’m barefoot.’ Tom Robbins

Poe Ballantine is the author of the cult classic Things I Like About America and the acclaimed memoir Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere, which was made into a documentary and is currently rated 8.0 on IMDB. He lives in Chadron, Nebraska, with his wife, Cristina, his son, Tom, and his notoriously slow dog, Lightnin’.